Thursday, October 8, 2015

Cascade Heights Lice Alert

LICE ALERT
​Dear Falcon Families,​

​There has been a case of live lice at school. ​
PLEASE  ​do lice checks at home (even the children who do not attend Cascade Heights) and ​
be vigilant in checking  ​them daily over the next 2 weeks.
 New information indicates that wet checks are the most effective method and our website has good resources
Resources are also available through the office, our lice check team leaders, Mrs. Bethke and Mrs. Gilliam, as well as a local company Lice Knowing You (503.239-LICE (5423)

If you discover head lice in your family, please notify these people immediately:
Mrs. Marlatt:   d.marlatt@chpcs.org
​Dr. Robinson: k.robinson@chpcs.org
AND
​ y
our child's Classroom Teacher:
8-Mrs. Adams  m.adams@chpcs.org
7-Mrs. Venture j.venture@chpcs.org
6-Mr. Vieira   l.vieria@chpcs.org
5-Ms. 
​O'Malley
  s.omalley@chpcs.org
4-Ms. Cantin   d.cantin@chpcs.org
3-Mrs. Gausman  a.gausman@chpcs.org
2-
Mrs. Ketel  f.ketel@chpcs.org
1-Miss Devlin  k.devlin@chpcs.org
K-
Mr. Currey  h.currey@chpcs.org

​Cascade Heights has a lice-free policy​ as follows:
When live lice are found at school, the student is sent home and the family is given head lice treatment information.

​All live lice will be removed following the application of a lice-killing product.

All students found with live lice shall be excluded from school until the measures above have been completed.

The parent/guardian shall accompany the student upon returning to school where the student will be screened for lice. If live lice are still present, the student will return home with the parent/guardian.

It is the parent’s/guardian’s responsibility to ensure an approved treatment has been initiated and the appropriate environment cleaning is being conducted in the home.

​When nits are found at school and it is the first occurrence of nits, the family is informed and given head lice treatment information. (If no live lice are found, the child will normally stay in class. However, if nits are excessive, student may be sent home at the discretion of the Director.)

​During treatment, 
manual removal of nits
​ is s
trongly recommend
​ed. ​
​Lice is communicable until treated and nits are removed.

The parent/guardian shall accompany the student to school where the student will be screened for lice. If live lice are present, the student will return home with the parent/guardian.

If nits are present, the child will be re-checked daily until nit free.​

It is the parent’s/guardian’s responsibility to ensure an approved treatment has been initiated and the appropriate environment cleaning is being conducted in the home.

Once nit-free, the child will be rechecked for lice and nits in 8-10 days​.

Thank you for your cooperation in helping Cascade Heights stay lice free!

No comments:

Post a Comment